Cath Kidston inspired crochet flower bag

I came across a little bag in the children’s department of John Lewis recently. It was quite cute and even had some sweet raffia crochet detail, but I thought it had the potential to be something really lovely!

original-bag

I spent a bit of time unpicking the original decoration and removing the plastic strap. And then, still inspired by Cath Kidston (when am I not?) I crocheted some roses and leaves in gorgeous deep pinks and then set to with a glue gun.

roses

The original plastic strap had been fastened with a brass eye and I couldn’t get it out without damaging the bag so I cut around it as closely as possible and glued the grossgrain ribbon handle over it and finished it with a lovely button on each side.

rose-bag

And ta dah! A gorgeous little evening bag!

Millie

Leave a comment